Dr. Christopher R. Honey, MD, DPhil, FRCSC - President

Dr. Christopher Honey is Professor of Neurosurgery at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada. He completed medical school at the University of Toronto and a doctoral degree at Oxford University while a Canadian Rhodes Scholar. Dr. Honey completed neurosurgical training at the University of British Columbia and accepted a position at Vancouver General Hospital to develop functional neurosurgery. He introduced the current practice of deep brain stimulation (DBS) to British Columbia in 1999 and has treated almost 500 patients. His other main clinical focus is the neurosurgical treatment of pain. He has published 80 peer reviewed research papers and receives research funding from government, NGO and industry sources. As president of the Canadian Neuromodulation Society, his goals are to expand the access of neuromodulation to patients across Canada and to advance the field of neuromodulation into new clinical areas.



Dr. Michel Prud'homme, MD, PhD, FRCSC - Past-President  

Dr. Michel Prudhomme is a neurosurgeon at the Hopital de l’Enfant Jesus in Quebec. He received his PhD and M.D from the Université de Montreal in 1996.

He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, Chairman of Research in Neurosurgery at the Hopital de l’Enfant Jesus. He is a professor at the Department of Surgery at Laval University.

He is the President of the Association of Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgeons of Canada. He has a long list of publications in peer reviewed journals to his credit. Dr. Prudhomme has presented at many national and international conferences. His main interests are in functional neurosurgery and rehabilitation including pain, movement disorders and walking. 




Dr. Keith McDougall, MD, FRCSC - Vice President


Dr. MacDougall is a Neurosurgeon and an Assistant Professor at Western University in London, ON.  

He obtained his MD at The University of Alberta and his neurosurgical training at Western.  His clinical practice is focused on Pain Surgery and Epilepsy.  

He has published and presented on outcomes following epilepsy surgery, specifically after invasive intracranial recordings as well on the results of long-term nerve root stimulation for neuropathic pain.  

Ongoing research interests include the study of novel neuro-stimulation techniques and technologies for the treatment of chronic neuropathic pain. 


Dr. William McDonald, MD, FRCSC - Treasurer

Dr. William McDonald obtained his undergraduate and medical degrees from University of British Columbia and is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons (Canada) in both Anesthesiology and Internal Medicine. He is retired form his practice in Pain Management at St. Paul's Hospital in Vancouver. He was a Clinical Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology and Pharmacology, UBC. His main practice interest was in interventional therapy for pain conditions.


Dr. Magdy Hassouna, MD, PhD, FRCSC - Secretary

Dr. Magdy Hassouna is a professor of Urology in the Department of Surgery at the University of Toronto. He received his medical degree in 1977 from the University of Alexandria, with a PhD in Surgery from McGill University in 1985.

Dr. Hassouna has been granted several honours and awards including the Lapides Award for Best Research in Neuro-urology (2000) and the Best Basic Research Award from the Canadian Urological Association (1996).

He holds grants from the Ontario Neurotrauma Foundation, CIHR for clinical and basic researche on bladder function and dysfunction. 

He has published over 100 articles in peer-reviewed journals relating specifically to the use of neuromodulation in the treatment of urological disorders. Read more...


Dr. Alan Berkman, BSc (Hons), MB ChB, DA (SA), FRCPC, FIPP, CIPS - Member-at-large

Originally from South Africa he moved to Canada in 1990 completing residency training at UBC and obtaining the FRCPC in Anesthesia in 1995.

In 1998 he developed an interventional Pain Program at the Nanaimo Regional General Hospital and then assisted in developing the Vancouver Island Multidisciplinary Pain Program. He completed the FIPP in 2014 and CIPS exam in 2016 set by the World Institute of Pain(WIP).

His appointments have included Head of Anesthesia NRGH, Regional Chief of Anesthesia, Central Island, Site Director Anesthesia Residency Training and Medical Student Training, NRGH, Director VIHA Pain Program, Nanaimo site, Board member UBC Pain Residency Training Program, Secretary, Canada Section, WIP and board member of the Canadian Neuromodulation Society.





Russell Munson, BScN - Member-at-large


Russell Munson is the Neuromodulation clinic coordinator in Regina, Saskatchewan.  He received his Bachelor of Science (Nursing) degree from the University of Saskatchewan in 1999 and worked as a ward nurse on the Neurosciences unit of Regina General Hospital until 2007.  Following this, he transitioned to the field of Neuromodulation and has served as program coordinator since 2010. 



Susan Schellinck, OT - Member-at-large


Click here to consult our Bylaws